20191006_131012.jpg

ACTIONS

Our action revolves around three principles:

Observe, Understand, Share.

The GEMM therefore functions as an observatory in itself, making it possible to understand and assess the way of life and behavior of marine mammals in their natural habitat and as a medium for exchanging , possibly comparing (biomimicry) and making the voice heard. voiceless.

In Polynesia, the GEMM was the first to draw up an inventory of the problems encountered by marine mammals in their sanctuary.

Different biases can be used to bring these principles to life. Science, but also art, philosophy, culture, information and ethics can be, separately or together, the object of our efforts.

GEMM is a member of the Protection Federation of Associations of Environmental Polynesian, works to the National Union and the National Sea Vigie Stranding Network French

INVASIVE ANIMAL TOURISM

In Polynesia as elsewhere in the world, we see a strong development of activities

whale and dolphin watching and approach in the wild. These activities most often surf on myths and legends involving these emblematic animals to promote non-reasoned and poorly framed approaches that disturb and tend to weaken populations of marine mammals - mainly the humpback whale, the bottlenose dolphin and the bottlenose dolphin. long bill - in Polynesia, disrupting their behavior , their way of life and their environment .

Since 2009, the GEMM has been carrying out voluntary monitoring of dolphins and whales affected by tourism in the Tuamotu and Society archipelagos. Detailed scientific monitoring was carried out in particular from 2009 to 2019 on the effects of diving tourism on the behavior of bottlenose dolphins in Rangiroa atoll.

Dolphin touching à Rangiroa
01-overfishing.jpg

CONFLICTS BETWEEN MARINE MAMMALS AND THE INDUSTRY

The scarcity of marine fauna in Polynesia generates increasingly acute problems between fishermen and marine mammals, including depredation behaviors in which animals remove, partially or totally, bait or catch from fishing gear. Cetaceans can then be victims of accidental catches or reprisals from exasperated fishermen. Globally, the false killer whale represents two thirds of the species identified, killed or seriously injured in fisheries, exceeding in certain places

people's resilience. Pilot whales are not left out, since a decline in their populations has also been observed in Hawaiian waters. This

The problem is all the more important since mortality rates are often underestimated. The populations of small cetaceans are also very threatened according to the fishing techniques used (Bay of Biscay). Since 2012, the GEMM has been working on a better understanding of the problems of coastal and deep-sea depredations in the Society, Tuamotu and Marquesas archipelagos in partnership with CRIOBE, DRMM and certain captains of Polynesian fishing vessels.

Less well-known problems, such as famine , diseases and poisonings linked to pollution and global warming, would also deserve more efforts but especially resources that we do not have.

  • Le GEMM au quotidien sur FaceBook

20191006_131012.jpg

PARTAGER, ALERTER, TÉMOIGNER

Nos actions s'articulent autour de trois principes :

 Observer, Comprendre, Partager.

 

Le GEMM fonctionne donc comme un observatoire en soi, permettant de comprendre et d’évaluer les problématiques animales et humaines dans leur habitat naturel et comme un média pour échanger et faire entendre la voix des sans voix.

En Polynésie le GEMM a été le premier à dresser un état des lieux des problèmes rencontrés par les mammifères marins et leurs écosystèmes.

Différents biais peuvent être utilisés pour faire vivre ces principes. La science, mais également l'art, la philosophie, la culture, le voyage, l'information et l'éthique peuvent être, à part ou ensemble, l'objet de nos efforts.

Le GEMM est membre de la Fédération des Associations de Protection de l'Environnement polynésienne, collabore au collectif national Vigie Mer et au Réseau National Échouage français

LE TOURISME ANIMALIER INVASIF

En Polynésie comme ailleurs dans le monde, nous constatons un fort développement des activités

d'observation et d'approche des baleines et des dauphins en milieu naturel. Ces activités surfent le plus souvent sur des mythes et légendes impliquant ces animaux emblématiques pour promouvoir des approches non-raisonnées et mal encadrées qui dérangent et tendent à fragiliser les populations de mammifères marins - principalement la baleine à bosse, le grand dauphin et le dauphin à long bec - en Polynésie, perturbant leur comportement, leur mode de vie et leur environnement.

Depuis 2009, le GEMM effectue un suivi bénévole des dauphins et des baleines impactés par le tourisme dans les archipels des Tuamotu et de la Société. Un suivi scientifique détaillé a été notamment mené de 2009 à 2019 sur les effets du tourisme plongée sur le comportement des grands dauphins de l'atoll de Rangiroa.

 

Dolphin touching à Rangiroa
01-overfishing.jpg

LES CONFLITS ENTRE LES HABITANTS DE L'OCÉAN ET L'INDUSTRIE

La raréfaction de la faune marine en Polynésie génère des problèmes de plus en plus aigus entre pêcheurs et mammifères marins dont des comportements de déprédation lors desquels des animaux enlèvent, partiellement ou totalement, des appâts ou des prises sur du matériel de pêche. Les cétacés peuvent alors être victimes de captures accidentelles ou de représailles de la part de pêcheurs excédés. Au niveau mondial, la fausse orque représente les deux tiers des espèces identifiées, tuées ou sérieusement blessées dans les pêcheries, dépassant à certains endroits

les capacités de résilience des populations. Les globicéphales tropicaux ne sont pas en reste, puisqu’un déclin de leurs populations a également été constaté dans les eaux hawaiiennes. Ce

problème est d'autant plus important que les taux de mortalité sont souvent sous-évalués. Les populations de petits cétacés sont également très menacées suivant les techniques de pêche employées (Golfe de Gascogne). Depuis 2012, le GEMM travaille à une meilleure compréhension des problèmes de déprédations côtières et hauturières dans les archipels de la Société, des Tuamotu et des Marquises en partenariat avec le CRIOBE, la DRMM et certains capitaines de navires de pêche polynésiens.

Des problèmes moins connus, comme la  famine, les maladies et les empoisonnements liés à la pollution et au réchauffement climatique, mériteraient également plus d'efforts mais  surtout des moyens que nous n'avons pas.

  • Le GEMM au quotidien sur FaceBook